While smartphones are evolving every day and support advanced features, they also carry privacy risks. If you use Google Maps on your device for navigation, you’re essentially allowing your smartphone to track you wherever you go. There’s no denying that this feature can be a lifesaver in a variety of situations.
But there’s no need to constantly allow your smartphone to track your location. A lot of apps request this specific permission, and you may not even be aware of it. It’s not a bad idea to enable location tracking as and when required and disabling the same afterwards.
Related
I had no idea how much Google Maps was tracking me until I found these settings
Create a boundary and protect your data
Disable Google Timeline to restrict capturing logs of the places you visit
Google’s Timeline feature saves your location history when enabled
Google Maps has a feature called Timeline that allows you to check all the places you’ve visited in the past. When enabled, the feature automatically saves visits and routes to a map on each of your devices. So, essentially, if your GPS is on all the time, Google can track the places that you visit for you to check later.
While some users may appreciate the feature, it could come across as a privacy risk for others. Thankfully, you can disable the feature to prevent Google from storing this information and delete your previously saved location data.
- Open Google Maps app on your smartphone.
- Click on your profile picture in the top-right corner of your screen.
- Select Your Timeline.
- Tap the three-dot menu and choose Location & privacy settings.
- Turn off Timeline tracking.
If you also want to remove your existing location history, select Delete all Timeline data to permanently clear the data stored in your Timeline. It’s also worth noting that the location history data for the Timeline feature has been moved from Google’s cloud servers to being stored locally on your individual smartphones to improve personal privacy. This could potentially make more people inclined towards using this feature without worrying.
Restrict other people from tracking your real-time location
Check if you’ve shared your location with anyone
Google allows users to share their location with others. If given access, other users can effectively track your real-time location via supported Google services such as Google Maps, Messages, Find Hub, and Personal Safety. While Location Sharing is generally off by default, it’s possible that you’ve shared your location with other users in the past. It’s worth checking who still has access and then changing the settings.
Open your phone’s location settings and look for Google Location Sharing. You can review the people you’re sharing with and stop sharing with specific individuals. This is especially useful if you shared your location temporarily in the past and forgot about it. It’s worth noting that Location Sharing and Timeline are different features. Turning off Timeline doesn’t automatically stop location sharing.
Some apps track your location without serving any legitimate purpose
Restrict unwanted apps from tracking your location
You’ve probably noticed that many apps ask for permission to access your location on Android. For some apps, tracking a user’s location actually serves a legitimate purpose. Google Maps tracks your location to help you navigate and reach your destination; cab-booking services such as Uber help you book a ride; and weather apps might track your location to update you with the latest information.
However, there are a plethora of apps that request access to your location without actually serving a core purpose. These apps might be collecting your location data for advertising or other functions. It’s best to double-check before agreeing to the request, as such apps might be collecting more information than actually needed to perform their primary function. This may also raise privacy concerns because location data can reveal sensitive information.
The good news is that Android users can easily disable such apps from tracking you. Remember, the exact name of some settings may differ from device to device based on the Android version, manufacturer, and the custom UI.
- Open the Settings app on your Android device.
- Tap Location.
- Select the App permissions option.
- Change unwanted apps from Allowed all the time to Only while using the app or Deny.
Turning off GPS will prevent your device from tracking your exact location
Turn on location services when using essential apps
If you wish to take the shortest route to prevent your device from tracking your exact location, the best option is to disable GPS on your device. Remember, if you do so, you won’t be able to use Google Maps or book rides accurately. If that’s not an issue, this is the most sure-shot option.
- Open the Settings app on your Android device.
- Search for the Location option and tap on it.
- Switch off Location to restrict GPS services on your device.
Note that turning off GPS will also prevent you from using built-in emergency services. While not as accurate as GPS, in some cases location can potentially be estimated using Wi-Fi, cellular networks, Bluetooth, and other signals, depending on the device.
Use location services as and when needed
It is a fact that a lot of us depend on essential location services such as Google Maps and Uber. But it’s not something that needs to be enabled all the time. You should regularly review what information your Android device and apps can access. A good workaround for most users would be to not disable every location-based feature permanently, but to use these services only when needed.
By following a few simple changes to your daily routine, you can keep your device from tracking every single move you make and still use those features when you want.